Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Discuss any thing else here.

Moderators: Simjen, KiwiBirkin

Post Reply
User avatar
Not-a-Number
Paid Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:54 pm

Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Not-a-Number » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:45 pm

I need 3 phase in my shed. Can anyone give me an idea of what it costs? Ive spoken to vector and its about $2k to get it to my front gate. So then I need a sparky to run about 25m to my shed. I want to run the house from one of the phases so I need that swapped over too.


Or doe anyone know much about single phase to 3 phase converters?

User avatar
Gollum
Posts: 1210
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:15 am

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Gollum » Sat Aug 29, 2015 8:27 am

Your place gonna be the Auckland launch site?

User avatar
Not-a-Number
Paid Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Not-a-Number » Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:58 am

No way! I have a big car making toy in my shed!

User avatar
Not-a-Number
Paid Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Not-a-Number » Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:02 pm

Had this badboy sitting in the corner of the shed for the last 6 months. Probably about time to make it work.

Image

Image

User avatar
Gollum
Posts: 1210
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:15 am

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Gollum » Sat Aug 29, 2015 2:54 pm

Crikey! That's a big expensive toy! You must have snuck it out the back door at work.... :lol:

User avatar
7ish
Paid Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Northwood,Christchurch
Contact:

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by 7ish » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:33 pm

Its a time machine..... you will lose hours there!
7ish

User avatar
Not-a-Number
Paid Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Not-a-Number » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:34 pm

Out the front door. Cost me a massive $1. The perks of a company that can't sell anything to non employees!

7dreamer
Posts: 428
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:26 am
Location: Invercargill

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by 7dreamer » Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:04 pm

Game over ...you win. I thought a lathe and a drill press was pretty clever.... this is just taking the mickey.
Other than that I can't help other than it may take some convincing to put three phase into a domestic property.

User avatar
Not-a-Number
Paid Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Anyone a sparky? Need 3 phase!

Post by Not-a-Number » Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:36 pm

Residential is actually pretty common and not too bad. Where I am they charge exactly the same as single phase. So there will be no added cost to run it except for the thousands to get it installed. I just dont know what all that could cost. Like I said, too the fence is $2k then its up to me.

I would of thought a couple of grand max if I did as much as I could but I really dont know. Time to find a sparky I guess. :shock:

Post Reply